ProQuest’s Black Freedom Struggle Website

ProQuest has a website titled Black Freedom Struggle in the United States. The site contains newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence, FBI records and more from six specific time periods in U.S. history:

  • Resistance to Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
  • The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
  • Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
  • The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
  • The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
  • The Contemporary Era (1976-2000s)