News and information useful to Cleveland-Marshall College of Law students, faculty and staff.

Archive for April 6th, 2016


New Supreme Court Briefs Database Available to Faculty and Students

West Facade of the Supreme Court Building

 

Faculty and students at Cleveland-Marshall now have access to Gale’s U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs database. This database contains briefs and related documents from Supreme Court cases between 1832 and 1978. Previously, many of these briefs were not available through any of the library’s other legal databases, so this is a very useful addition to the library’s collection for anyone doing research on older Supreme Court cases.

Access to this database is IP-authenticated for users connected to the law school’s computer network; faculty and students can also access the database while off campus by logging in with their CSU ID number and library PIN.

Tryouts for the C|M|Law Trial Team This Saturday

If you’re interested in trying out for the Cleveland-Marshall Trial Team, your time is running out!

We have had a year of unprecedented success and are looking for more talent to join us. In order to try out for the team, you need to prepare and perform an opening statement with the packet that is attached.

Don’t know what that means? Talk to one of our current team members (emails below) or click here to watch an example.

Tryouts are this Saturday, April 9 from 9am to 6pm. There is a sign-up sheet on the front desk of the Student Services office and the time slots are filling up!

If you have any questions or need help with your tryout, all our members are available to help: Brooke Hamilton (b.l.hamilton@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Vince Scebbi (scebbiv10@gmail.com); Dave Sherman (d.l.sherman97@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Brad Wolfe (brad.s.wolfe@gmail.com); Clarissa Smith (c.a.smith63@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Caroline Nelson (c.e.nelson51@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Tiffany Henderson (t.s.mason@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Taurean Shattuck (t.shattuck@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Justin Lovdahl (j.lovdahl@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Arleesha Wilson (a.s.wilson95@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Kalynne Proctor (k.n.proctor@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Sarah Mancuso (s.m.mancuso@cmlaw.csuohio.edu)