News and information useful to Cleveland-Marshall College of Law students, faculty and staff.


Tryouts for the C|M|Law Trial Team This Saturday

If you’re interested in trying out for the Cleveland-Marshall Trial Team, your time is running out!

We have had a year of unprecedented success and are looking for more talent to join us. In order to try out for the team, you need to prepare and perform an opening statement with the packet that is attached.

Don’t know what that means? Talk to one of our current team members (emails below) or click here to watch an example.

Tryouts are this Saturday, April 9 from 9am to 6pm. There is a sign-up sheet on the front desk of the Student Services office and the time slots are filling up!

If you have any questions or need help with your tryout, all our members are available to help: Brooke Hamilton (b.l.hamilton@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Vince Scebbi (scebbiv10@gmail.com); Dave Sherman (d.l.sherman97@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Brad Wolfe (brad.s.wolfe@gmail.com); Clarissa Smith (c.a.smith63@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Caroline Nelson (c.e.nelson51@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Tiffany Henderson (t.s.mason@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Taurean Shattuck (t.shattuck@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Justin Lovdahl (j.lovdahl@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Arleesha Wilson (a.s.wilson95@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Kalynne Proctor (k.n.proctor@cmlaw.csuohio.edu); Sarah Mancuso (s.m.mancuso@cmlaw.csuohio.edu)

This Just In: Appellate Mediation

appellate MediationBlack’s Law Dictionary defines mediation as: a method of nonbinding dispute resolution involving a neutral third party who tries to help the disputing parties reach a mutually agreeable solution. While most people involved in law are aware of mediation as a method for solving disputes before a trial, less are aware of appellate mediation as an option, and sometimes a requirement depending on the court.

Appellate Mediation: A Guidebook for Attorneys and Mediators provides a comprehensive guide to appellate mediation for legal advocates and mediators. Included are helpful approaches that can benefit first-time participants in appellate mediation, as well as those who regularly conduct such mediation. This book teaches new and old practitioners alike, the basics of appellate law and how it informs the mediation process. The book also provides extensive preparation tips, decision trees, and suggestions for how to settle appellate matters.

Trial Team Needs Volunteer Witnesses

GavelHave you ever wondered how to support the best Trial Team in Cleveland without donating money? Well you’re in luck!

C|M|Law’s trial team is looking for volunteers to be witnesses to borrow a few friends to prepare for TYLA Regionals next weekend. Less than an hour of your time will be needed.

Not only is this a great way to help the trial team it is also a great experience if a student is interested in trial team next year.

Anyone interested should send a message to Brooke Hamilton (b.l.hamilton@cmlaw.csuohio.edu) or Vince Scebbi (v.scebbi@cmlaw.csuohio.edu).

Courtroom View Network: Listen to Casebooks, Videos for learning Evidence Rules, Appellate & Trial Advocacy

Want to listen to MP3 recordings of cases from your casebook?  Learn the Rules of Evidence by watching short courtroom videos that illustrate each  rule?   Improve your appellate advocacy technique for Moot Court or trial technique for trial team?  Then take a look at Courtroom View Network (CVN), available for free to students and faculty.

To create your FREE account, go to  Courtroom View Network and look at the top of the page for: New user? Sign up!. You must use your law school email address when completing the registration form.

Courtroom View Network (CVN) contains:

  1. Audio Case Files – Listen to MP3s of your assigned cases.   Browse by casebook or subject, or run a search.  There is a handy fact summary and rules of law  for each case.
  2. Training Library – Video clips accompanied by short presentations to highlight various trial advocacy techniques, appellate advocacy techniques and evidence rules.
  3. Video Archive – Video of actual cases, arranged by subject, name of parties, and jurisdiction.  It is now searchable.  Another  new feature is the Legal News Blog.

This Just In: Two Witness Preparation DVDs

We’ve got in the latest editions of DVDs in the ABA’s Witness Preparation series:

  • You Will Be a Credible Witness at Trial [Find it]
  • You Will Be a Credible Witness at Your Deposition [Find it]

The ABA is moving into the multi-lingual market, both DVDs are –

Now with Chinese and Spanish subtitles.

Ahora, con subtítulos en chino y español.

現在,中文和西班牙文字幕。